Come Sail Away to the Past by Marie Lavender

An article about how I did my historical research for UPON YOUR HONOR…

Seasons of Love

From Christina: As another historical romance writer, I know the need for careful research. Today, Marie Lavender offers a glimpse at how she uncovers accurate information for her stories.

 

Come Sail Away to the Past

by Marie Lavender

 

CLIPPERPICAs Upon Your Honor is a period romance, I wanted to cover some of the tough research I did for the book. Though it is getting easier the more I write, I did struggle with some technical issues during the writing of the manuscript.

For example, as most of Chloe’s journey is aboard La Voyageur, captained by Grant Hill (the hero in the first book), it was necessary to research ships. Clipper ships, to be exact. Clipper ships were very popular in their time, from 1840 to 1869. They were very fast and could outrun many other ships. I chose the clipper because I knew the captain would want a…

View original post 702 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Historical Romance, Love, Relationships, Romance, Writing

Leave a Reply

