Review of Second Chances: Sammy’s Story

I finally got around to reviewing Second Chances:  Sammy’s Story.  I don’t normally do official reviews, but I promised Annie Edmonds that I would do this so long ago (back when we were in the MARSocial Author of the Year Competition together) and I try to keep my promises.  I think I last mentioned this book on March 8th on the blog here.  Furthermore, Annie has fast become one of my great writer friends and I bless the day she came into my life.  I have met so many wonderful people in this business, and Annie is one of many I can call a source of inspiration.  Living with a silent disease is not easy, but her story, as well as LaRae Parry‘s makes me so proud.  You can never really know what’s going on with someone and I applaud them both for speaking out, living their lives to the fullest and becoming the strong, confident, beautiful women they are today.

7a74448a6f44d4fd4158ddaabfe9a1e2ba4f4983

Annie published her book in 2013.  Second Chances:  Sammy’s Story is an erotic romance.  I have to admit that erotic romances are my guilty pleasure.  Who knows?  I may even write one someday.  I won’t go into too much detail here because of spoilers, but also due to the fact that I don’t want to offend readers who don’t read erotica.  So here it is:

My Review of Second Chances:  Sammy’s Story

goldStargoldStargoldStargoldStar

Content warning:  Erotica (detailed sex scenes as well as BDSM)

Annie’s book was the first book with BDSM that didn’t make me totally cringe.  I was once in a pretty abusive relationship so reading about any type of abuse or dominance usually makes me uncomfortable.  Was part of the book out of my comfort zone?  Sure.  BDSM isn’t for everyone, and it isn’t for me, not on a personal level.  To each his own.  I respect that some people enjoy it and that is fine for them.  What I loved about Sammy’s Story was that the author certainly did her research.  And the emphasis on SSC (Safe, Sane and Consensual) was much appreciated.  Any attempts at BDSM should be with the full consent of both parties, and a safe word is necessary.  I mentioned the use of a safe word in my book, A Touch of Dawn, but you have to read that book to understand the reference.  Thanks go out to Annie, a talented writer, for clearing up this often misconstrued concept of BDSM.  Reading the book was definitely an educational experience for me.  If you want to learn more about this alternate lifestyle, read Second Chances or subscribe to Annie’s blogs at http://aedmonds315.wordpress.com/ and http://annieedmondsauthor.blogspot.com/.

Now, onto a little about the story.  What I loved the most was the characters!  Annie has a way of making the characters come alive off of the page, and it was quite an adventure to watch our heroine Samantha come into her own as she learned all about the world of BDSM.  Jake is a handsome, wealthy man who owns a secret BDSM club called Desire, and Sammy’s best friends have been wanting to set her up with him.  Jake knows all about Sammy from their mutual friends.  Only Samantha has never heard of him.  All she knows is that Kelly, her close friend who asked her to house sit for her, mentions Jake repeatedly as a contact for emergencies.  When Sammy finds her friends’ kink room, she is shocked and begins to see them in a whole new light.  She does meet Jake eventually and he asks her out.  At this point, she is ready to start over with her life, to forget her wretched past, and try new things.  They get closer and he introduces her to the world of BDSM.

Is this book steamy?  Hell, yes!  It is very hot, and the attraction between Samantha and Jake is both strong and instantaneous.  Even though occasional aspects of the BDSM lifestyle caused me some discomfort (maybe I am too “vanilla” after all), I couldn’t hate Jake as a Dom.  He is a good man and he develops feelings for Sammy fairly quickly.

01c039e9a659c2340cbcf593d9beebef

Of course, they fall in love and the book reads very fast.  This book is not all about sex, however.  There is quite a bit of suspense as someone is out to get Samantha.  They must figure it out before it’s too late.

The story read well and I even loved the secondary characters like Kelly and Garrett, as well as all the other doms and subs that quickly become a part of Sammy’s life.  My verdict?  You are talented, Annie Edmonds!  Thank you for this enlightening read.  I can’t wait to find out what happens in the sequel!  I want to know all about Master Mike whenever it’s done.

So, four stars!  If you like erotica and don’t mind reading about BDSM, then this story is for you.  Sammy’s story.  Get the book and find out how a sweet girl from Jersey comes into her own…quite a hot read!

Various purchase links:

http://www.amazon.com/Second-Chances-Sammys-story-Chance-ebook/dp/B00EB3FJ6M/

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/343536

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/second-chances-annie-edmonds/1116336387?ean=2940045190824

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/second-chances-sammy-s-story

As always, happy reading!  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Contemporary, Erotica, Love, Relationships, Reviews, Romance, Writing

2 responses to “Review of Second Chances: Sammy’s Story

  1. Reblogged this on MARSocial Author Business Enhancement group's Blog and commented:

    My review of Annie Edmond’s book…

    Like

  2. Major thankies for the post.Much thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

