“This Is Us” – a poem

This Is Us

I can’t explain how we fit together so well,

skin against skin,

swaying to the rhythm of our hearts,

our bodies entwined.

9412374

I can’t explain the connection,

the link between our minds,

No matter our differences we still get each other.

I can’t explain the sense of completion as I look into your eyes,

the safety of being near you,

being held by you.

 10290666_511851735615567_6318773654661052694_n

I can’t explain the strong passion that wasn’t there with others,

the race of my blood,

312a653fbbcfd48de321570fa7e109dc

the urge within to be closer to you,

as close as possible.

I can’t explain how content I feel when you caress my cheek or kiss my forehead,

man-kiss-girl-forehead

how right it feels to be at your side.

There is nothing like it in the world.

I can’t explain my racing heart or my lips that need to be kissed,

or even these eyes that crave the sight of you.

dil

I can’t explain us.

No words would ever suffice.

It just is,

like the sun that comes up every morning.

It simply is,

like the breaths we all take,

so natural,

so necessary.

It just is.

 103

All I can say is you mean everything to me and that will never change.

This is us, my love,

and it doesn’t need to be explained.

This is us,

just you and me in this moment.

I love you.

Perhaps that is the only explanation to give.

Nothing else could explain how much I need you.

Even when we’re both having bad days,

we always come back to this.

Us.

 kissing-couple

This is us, and that’s all we’ll ever need.

—–

© Marie Lavender, 2014.

12 Comments

Filed under Love, Poetry, Relationships, Romance, Writing

12 responses to ““This Is Us” – a poem

  1. Very nice love poem. It could get all the readers hearts fluttering,

    Like

  2. How true !!!
    Love is more than mere words or the physical interactions between
    two individuals.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on MorgEn Bailey's Writing Blog and commented:
    A romantic poem for a Monday morning…

    Like

  4. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.
    nike air max 90 http://www.construtoracopas.com.br/cope.php?es=nike-air-max-90

    Like

  5. Thanks to my father who told me regarding this webpage, this website is truly
    amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

