A Character Interview with Nick D. from NOT QUITE JULIET plus a conversation with author Katherine Rhodes!

Today, we’re doing something a little different. If you remember, we interviewed Palessa’s character on September 22nd and it was so fun that I thought we may as well make an occasional habit of it. I had the pleasure of meeting Katherine Rhodes, the author of Not Quite Juliet, on my author journey and I asked her if she’d let me borrow one of her main characters, Nicholas Dovadsky, from the book. We’ll get a chance to talk to Katherine in a bit, but now we have on the stage…Nick D.!

NickD

Marie Lavender:  Hello, Nick.  Please have a seat.

Character Nicholas Dovadsky:  Hello.  Thanks for having me.

Marie:  Of course. We’re going to start out with some simple questions, all right?

Nick: Sure.

Marie:  What is your occupation?  Are you any good at it?  Do you like it?

Nick:  By day, I’m a mild-mannered chemist. I work with the coroner for Allegheny County and get to blow stuff up. I’m good at blowing stuff up. I do rather enjoy it.
By night I’m the lead singer in Silver Soul. Damn straight I’m good at it—and I wouldn’t be up there if I didn’t like it.

Marie:  (Chuckles.)

Fair enough. So, what is your family like?

Nick: My mother and father are gone, but my sweet Morgan and her sister make up for it. By extension, my band is my family, too and they rock. Literally.

Marie:  All right. What did your childhood home look like?

Nick:  It was very similar to what I live in now, a gorgeous old home my parents took time and pride in restoring. I loved growing up there; probably a great measure of why I bought my current place.

Marie:  I can’t blame you there…

So, do you have any hobbies?  What do you enjoy doing?

Nick:  Writing music and playing with the guys. I also love giving my Morgan private piano concerts. Those are ‘invite only’.

Marie:  Okay. So, what is your greatest dream?

Nick: I kind of think I’m living it. I have my band, my music, my awesome full time job, my girl, my house… I mean, it doesn’t get better than this.

Not Quite Juliet

Marie:  All right.

What kind of person do you wish you could be?  What is stopping you?

Nick: A little more involved with charities. I know I’ve got it good and I want to spread that around. What’s stopping me? Well, time at the moment. Full schedule all the time.

Marie:  So I’m going to throw another random question at you now. 

Who was your first love?

Nick:  Her name was Casey Line.

Marie:  All right.

So, what’s the most terrible thing that ever happened to you?

Nick:  My first love.

Marie:  Okay…I would push for more information, as I’m dying to know, but this looks delicate.

Let’s move on to something a bit lighter, shall we?

[Nick nods.]

What was your dream growing up? Did you achieve that dream? If so, in what ways was it not what you expected? If you never achieved the dream, why not?

Nick:  To be a chemist. I always loved finding out what was in things and what made things up. And I’m happy to say I got there.

Marie:  Great!

So, who is your role model?

Nick:  Go ahead and laugh- Hedy Lamar. The woman was a walking sexpot and genius. Did you know that she invented spread spectrum technology that we use in our cellphones? In 1940! Damn. I’d love to have lunch with her.

Marie:  Interesting!

Well…you’ll probably think I’m digging for dirt on the next question. 

Is there someone you pretend to like but really dislike?

Nick:  Vatori’s brother, Simon Garabaldi. Dude is straight-laced and as boring as they come. He’s always on duty even when he’s not.

Marie:  Okay.

Let’s try something else…

So, what is your deepest desire, Nicholas?

Nick:  Children. I had that for just a moment once…

Marie:  What is your greatest fear?

Nick: Having that child ripped from me again…

Marie:  I’m so sorry. 😦  I know nothing I can say will take your pain away…

Well, we’re out of time. Thank you for visiting us today, Nick. It was so interesting getting to know you!  (Waves goodbye to her guest.)

Now, let’s shift over and get the author’s perspective.  We have author Katherine Rhodes on the stage today. Hi, Katherine!

KRphoto

Author Katherine Rhodes:  Hello.  Thank you for having me here.

Marie:  My pleasure!  We just got to talk to the hero of your story, Nicholas Dovadsky, or Nick D. Quite an interesting character.  Can you tell us a little about him?

Katherine:  Well, he’s the kind of guy I would have loved to date and/or marry when I was younger. Someone who had a crazy creative side, but utterly laced with intelligence and humor.

Marie:  Nothing wrong with that!  😉

So, what are your character’s greatest strengths?

Katherine:  He’s loyal and dependable. He was betrayed badly by his ex-fiancee, so he really doesn’t mess around with that stuff.

Marie:  Well, that’s certainly understandable.

Now let’s take the opposition on that. What, do you feel, are his greatest weaknesses?

Katherine:  His past. He’s had a time getting over that betrayal.

Marie:  Well, as a recipient of certain betrayal in the past, all I can say is that is does take time to trust again.

Let’s try something else…

What are some of his favorite foods?

Katherine:  Italian, but he loves good Asian—Japanese, Asian, Indian, Korea. But never balut.

Marie:  Can’t blame him there. Yuck! But I can agree with the rest.

So, what’s a positive quality that your character is unaware that he or she has?

Katherine:  His perfect timing. He has no idea that somehow he manages to always say or do the right thing at the right time for everyone.

Marie:  Very nice!

Will readers like or dislike this character, and why?

Katherine:  I hope they like him! He’s fun to write and fun to find out about.

Marie:  I’m sure they will! I already do, and I’m dying to learn more.

Well, now that we have a real taste of Nick D., we have a few questions for you as well as the author.

What first gave you the idea for your book?

Katherine:  I wanted to write a rocker romance and decided to go with a rom com feel to it. I love books that make me laugh, and rockers seemed like the perfect place to do it.

Marie:  Good idea!

So, what is your writing style like? Are you a pantster or a plotter?

Katherine:  I’m a pantser! I start writing on the fly, and about three or four chapters in, I should really write down the ideas that I’m messing with!

Marie:  (Laughs.)

Now, I’m throwing this one in for our aspiring writers. Did you come across any specific challenges in writing Not Quite Juliet or publishing it?  What would you do differently the next time?

Katherine: I didn’t, actually. This one of the books that fell off my fingers. But I have had trouble with others that wouldn’t finish themselves. I have to walk away from those for a while. I just walked away from a book for eight months because I couldn’t figure it out. Then I realized I was making it too hard, dissected it, and saw exactly what I was looking for.

So for a new author? It’s okay if you can’t see the end right away or have to walk away. It WILL come to you!

Marie:  I agree. We can always use those tips of encouragement, at any stage in our careers! Thank you for that, Katherine!

Well, it was a such a pleasure having you here on the I Love Romance Blog!  And how apropos is that, considering what a great story Not Quite Juliet appears to be.  I certainly want to learn more!

Readers, you will just have to pick up a copy of this awesome book by Katherine Rhodes, a very talented author! 🙂

Not Quite Juliet

Here is the blurb for Not Quite Juliet:

One fateful night, by the grace of beer and peanuts, Morgan Kirkbride–the self-professed super fangirl of Silver Soul– falls for the sexy rock god, Nick D. Literally.

Lands on her ass right in front of him.

Morgan is sure the lead singer of Silver Soul thought she was a graceless flake, but instead asks her to a midnight diner and winds up back at her place. She’s captivated, but sure it’s just a crazy one-night fling… Imagine her shock when the very next Monday at Allegheny County Courthouse, the highly respected, well-credentialed chemist Dr. Nicholas Dovadsky is called as a witness — and Morgan recognizes him as the rock god who rocked her bed.

Sparks fly between them, but things get complicated – fast. When an ex-boyfriend returns to haunt Morgan and her roommate, no one takes him seriously. But when the simple threats become violent, perverse and horrifying, she realizes someone is out to get her.

Nick doesn’t intend for anything or anyone to stop him from getting to know the spunky, curvaceous, if clumsy, woman. He just keeps coming back…because there’s one thing he knows: he wants Morgan in his life, for good.

**Content Warning: Contains explicit content and adult situations that may not be suitable for all audiences. 18+ Audience**
Katherine is also offering us a great excerpt from the book!

I took the offered hand and nearly swooned. Swooned. Who the hell swoons? I stood up and followed him through the mostly empty club as the staff was sweeping and pushing tables around. He didn’t let go of my hand as we wound through the tables to the door stage right.
This time, the little bitch in my head slapped me. I was being led backstage by the man I had a severe fangirl crush on, and we were going out for food and a chat. I almost dropped my cider at the realization. I was walking backstage with Nick D. I realized I had an obligation to women everywhere at that moment–and I fulfilled it.
I dropped my eyes and I gazed upon the most gorgeous denim-clad backside I had ever seen. He walked just enough to press those firm globes into the denim and release them a moment later with the next stride. The cloth hugged him, and it was one of the most delicious sights I’d ever seen in my life. Squeezable Tush. I wondered if I could bottle it.
“Enjoying the view?” he asked.
My eyes shot up to his, where he was peeking over his shoulder at me about to push the door open. Fire rushed into my cheeks. Let’s see, I had proved I was graceless, easily flustered, worked at a BDSM club, and had absolutely no stealth to even grab a glimpse of the World’s Most Fantastic Backside. I’d probably dump the soup down the front of my shirt.
His eyes sparkled mischievously, though, as he looked at me. I took a chance. “Hmm. It could be a little better. Could you just turn to the right a little?” He laughed, and obliged me.
Oh, it was a perfect ass.

Not Quite Juliet Teaser

(Laughs.) I definitely want to read more!  😀

Purchase Links:

Universal Amazon link:  http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00JJARYYM

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/not-quite-juliet-katherine-rhodes/1119943535

CreateSpace:  https://www.createspace.com/4892036

About Katherine Rhodes

KRphoto

Author of erotica, light BDSM erotica and paranormal erotica. Expert in the profundities of bad movies and awful literature. Armed with her Bachelors of English, Literature she has set her mind to writing erotic romances which are kinky, dirty, and fun. A lackadaisical laundry goddess, Katherine resides in Philadelphia with her husband, three cats and a betta named Fishtian Grey.
Katherine’s Books:

26112387

51cAeUPrEgL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

25562369

25416679

24991863

24866825

24312703

23825834

Not Quite Juliet

23786728

22912731

And, if you want to know how to connect with the amazing Katherine Rhodes, here are some of her author links:

Website/Blog:  http://katherinerhodes.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/katherinerhodesauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Mistress_KayR

Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Katherine-Rhodes/e/B00H693JXS/

Google+:  https://plus.google.com/u/0/108748357441081849146/posts

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7091498.Katherine_Rhodes

Publisher:  http://www.beaucoupllcpublishing.com/katherine-rhodes/

Once again, I want to thank both of our guests, Nick D., the male main character of Not Quite Juliet, and Katherine Rhodes, the brilliant author of the novel, for stopping by!  It was so much fun to have you here! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books, Character Interview, Contemporary, Erotica, Event, Fiction, Interview, Readers, Romance, Writing

3 responses to “A Character Interview with Nick D. from NOT QUITE JULIET plus a conversation with author Katherine Rhodes!

  1. Pingback: A Character Interview with Nick D. from NOT QUITE JULIET plus a conversation with author Katherine Rhodes! | cherylanne57

  2. Pingback: Romantic Reflections: 2015 | I Love Romance Blog

Leave a Reply

