A Character Interview with Angel Bennett from ANGELEA’S DREAMS OF YESTERDAY plus a conversation with author Linda L. Picl!

Today, we’re doing something a little different. If you remember, we interviewed Natalie Alder’s character on October 13th and it was so fun that I thought we may as well make an occasional habit of it. I had the pleasure of meeting Linda L. Picl, the author of Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday, on my author journey and I asked her if she’d let me borrow one of her main characters, Angel Bennett, from the book. We’ll get a chance to talk to Linda in a bit, but now we have on the stage…Angel!

Angel

Marie Lavender:  Hello, Angel.  Please have a seat.

Character Angel Bennett:  Hello.  Thanks for having me.

Marie:  Of course. We’re going to start out with some simple questions, all right?

Angel: All right.

Marie:  What is your occupation?  Are you any good at it?  Do you like it?

Angel: Hi, thanks for having me. I am an antiques dealer. Am I any good at it? Yes, I think so; I have many satisfied customers. Do I like it? Yes, I do. The hunt is the most fun, and then, of course, the sale…that’s a close second.

Marie:  Okay. Great! 

So, what is your family like?

Angel:  I don’t have much family, I have my brother Rick, a beach bum who likes to hang out at the local bars. He’s a great guy though. Then I have my cousin Missy and my fiancé. That’s it. My adoptive parents died in a car accident a long time ago.

Marie:  Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your parents…

Let’s try something else, okay?

What did your childhood home look like?

Angel:  It looked like a foster home for quite a while until the Bennett’s came along, then it was the typical 3 bedroom ranch in the suburbs.

Marie:  Do you have any hobbies?  What do you enjoy doing?

Angel: Oh, I have a great hobby. I love to scuba dive, looking for lost pirate treasure. I enjoy mainly diving and reading about the local lost ships in our area.

Marie:  All right. So, what is your greatest dream?

Angel:  Probably to finally marry Nate and live on the Atlantic Ocean. I want a wide open house right on the beach.

Marie:  Can’t blame you there…I want a beach house as well.

Okay, so, what kind of person do you wish you could be?  What is stopping you?

Angel:  I wish I was more assertive. Don’t get me wrong, I can stand up for myself, but I hate to fight with anyone. What is stopping me? I’m deathly afraid of getting punched in the face.

Marie:  (Smiles.) Well, of course, no one wants that…

All right. I’m going to throw another random question at you now. 

Who was your first love?

Angel:  Well, that depends if you’re asking about my present life or my past. My past life I was in love with Alexander; he was the captain of a pirate ship. Now I love Nate. He’s my partner in business and in life.

Marie:  (Sighs.) I love romance…

Angelea's Dreams of Yesterday

All right. So, what’s the most terrible thing that ever happened to you?

Angel:  Having Alexander come back and try to claim me as his wife now. Of course he’s dead, but he sure made his presence known.

Marie:  Wow, that’s a bit creepy! 😦

Let’s move on to something a bit lighter now, shall we?

[Angel nods.]

What was your dream growing up? Did you achieve that dream? If so, in what ways was it not what you expected? If you never achieved the dream, why not?

Angel:  My biggest dream as a kid was to find parents that loved me and my brother. We had it for a short time until they died, but I know we were loved. It was everything I thought it would be. They were excellent parents, very vigilant with everything we did and very giving of themselves.

Marie:  I think we all want that kind of love in our lives.

So, tell us…who is your role model, Angel?

Angel:  I guess my role model is Nate; he shows me every day how to be a good person.

Marie:  Wow, that’s wonderful!

Well, you’ll probably think I’m digging for dirt on the next question. 

Is there someone you pretend to like but really dislike?

Angel:  Some of my customers make me crazy, but most of them are sweet, so no, there’s no one I really dislike.

Marie:  Okay.

So, what is your deepest desire?

Angel:  Just to be loved, and I think I’ve found that with Nate.

Marie:  Happy to hear it! (Smiles.)

Tell us, Angel…what is your greatest fear?

Angel: Probably bringing up another item that has a bad spirit attached to it.

Marie:  Yikes! That fear is understandable.

Well, we’re out of time. Thank you for visiting us today, Angel. It was so interesting getting to know you!  (Waves goodbye to her guest.)

Now, let’s shift over and get the author’s perspective.  We have author Linda L. Picl on the stage today. It’s so lovely to have you back, hon. I remember when we interviewed you on ILRB around this time last year. Hi again, Linda!

11063427_378872925629267_9186061370680250518_n

Author Linda L. Picl:  Hello.  Thanks for having me today.

Marie:  My pleasure!  We just got to talk to the heroine of your story, Angel. Quite an interesting character.  Can you tell us a little about her?

Linda:  She’s a normal everyday girl who happens to get amnesia and think she’s married to a pirate. And she thinks her name is Angelea.

Marie:  Whoa!  Quite the predicament! 

So, what are your character’s greatest strengths?

Linda: She’s stronger than she thinks she is. She’s not afraid to confront her demons.

Marie:  Nothing wrong with that!

Now, let’s take the opposition on that. What, do you feel, are Angel’s greatest weaknesses?

Linda:  She gives up too easily on the people around her.

Marie:  I see.

Let’s try something else…

What are some of her favorite foods?

Linda:  She loves burgers and fries, the greasier the better.

Marie:  (Laughs.) She must have great metabolism! 😉

So…what’s a positive quality that your character is unaware that he or she has?

Linda: Bravery. There’s not much that frightens her.

Marie:  Great!

Will readers like or dislike this character, and why?

Linda: They will love her; she keeps going when things get hard and manages to survive an almost insurmountable problem.

Marie:  Can’t go wrong with that description! I’m dying to learn more about the book.

Now that we have a real taste of Angel, we have a few questions for you as well as the author.

What first gave you the idea for Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday?

Linda: I wanted to try paranormal romance, after doing two previous romances.

Marie:  Sounds like a plan to me!

So, what is your writing style like? Are you a pantster or a plotter?

Linda: A plotter, although there are times I just start writing to see what comes out.

Marie:  All right.

Now, I’m throwing this one in for our aspiring writers. Did you come across any specific challenges in writing this book or publishing it?  What would you do differently the next time?

Linda: The only thing I would do differently is really examine my book for problems. Once it’s in edits there are no rewrites.

Marie:  You’re right about that. And that’s great advice, for sure.

Well, it was a such a pleasure having you here on the I Love Romance Blog!  And how apropos is that, considering what a great story Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday appears to be.

Readers, you will just have to pick up a copy of this awesome book by Linda L. Picl, a very talented author! 🙂

Angelea's Dreams of Yesterday

Here is the blurb for Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday:

Nothing short of a miracle will convince Angelea she’s the person everyone claims she is. She thought she was just waking up from a nightmare, but her nightmare is just beginning. Her doctor tells her she’s someone named Angel Bennett, someone she’s never heard of and the bruises on her body tell her something horrendous has happened to her, but what? That’s something no one can figure out.
Nate Matthews knows who Angelea really is. She’s his lover and he’d hoped his future wife. But when she awakens in the hospital after a routine surgery and she claims she’s married to a man named Alexander from a time long ago, he knows they will both be up against something no one has ever had to face before. Maybe something evil. How will he convince the love of his life she is not married to a pirate?
Linda is also offering us a great excerpt from the book!

“I’m not sleeping in there, it looks like a Valentine card threw up all over that room.” She threw him a slight grin and turned to drop the pillow and blankets she clutched on the couch.
Nate exploded with laughter, “Thank you I’ve been telling you that for years, maybe now we can change it?”
“You can if you want, I’m not stepping foot in that room, and it’s all yours.”
Forgetting the situation for a split second he told her, “Babe you don’t like to sleep out here, it’s drafty and noisy. You always complain about it.”
Then it hit him. The reason she refused the bedroom was not the décor…it was him.
Her next statement confirmed his fears, “No, the couch will be fine, thanks.” He felt the air rush out of his lungs and his heart crush in his chest. The night she was in the hospital was the longest night of his life, he missed her so much. Now she wasn’t sick and gone, she didn’t want to sleep with him and refused of her own free will.
“You don’t mean that? Really?” He never had to before, but now he was pleading with her. Raw pain filled his eyes. This couldn’t be happening. They’d worked so hard to get their relationship to this point and now it somehow evaporated right before his eyes.
“Yes, I’m sorry I do.” He could tell she tried to soothe things over and understand his feelings when she replied.
“Listen Nate, I know, I know we’ve been together forever, but in truth I just met you. I’m not kidding when I say that. I can’t jump in bed with you. I am sorry. But the couch will be fine for now unless you want to take it.” He was beyond furious and had an angry fiery look in his eyes that made her cautious of what she said next. What he didn’t want her to know was the truth…he was heartbroken.
He dropped the bag of food on the kitchen table, “Fine. Here’s lunch, enjoy.” He turned, grabbed his keys and without a look back in her direction slammed the door on his way out of the apartment. He literally shook everything in the place to its foundation, including her.
He wondered what he was going to do now as he headed to his car. Everything they’d worked for and built was suddenly gone. Their life together obliterated in one day.
Ooh, love the tension…

Purchase Links:

Universal Amazon link:  http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00TWPIOEI

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/angeleas-dreams-of-yesterday-linda-l-picl/1121279321

CreateSpace:  https://www.createspace.com/5331960

About Linda L. Picl

11063427_378872925629267_9186061370680250518_n

Linda L. Picl was born in Illinois and got her love of reading from spending time in a tiny library under a police station in a small town there. From there she went on to work at many of the libraries in suburbs all around the Chicago area, which only fired up her love of romance novels.

Following her favorite authors Robyn Carr and Nora Roberts, she went on to write sweet romance books and produced her first book, Next Time Love Comes, and then Solitary Dreamer, both second chance at love romances. Not everyone gets lucky on their first try at love.
Those are the types of books Linda loves to write. She has just published her third book, a paranormal romance, Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday, released by Beau Coup Publishing, and more books are on their way.

Linda lives in a suburb of Wisconsin with her husband.

Linda’s Books:

Angelea's Dreams of Yesterday

Solitary_Dreamer

22555199

And, if you want to know how to connect with the amazing Linda L. Picl, here are some of her author links:

Website/Blog:  https://lpicl.wordpress.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/lindal.picl

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/LindaLPicl

Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Linda-L.-Picl/e/B00L5MBE98/

Google+:  https://plus.google.com/u/0/106195602678238404498/posts

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8329651.Linda_L_Picl

Publisher:  http://www.beaucoupllcpublishing.com/linda-picl/

Once again, I want to thank both of our guests, Angel Bennett, the female main character of Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday, and Linda L. Picl, the brilliant author of the novel, for stopping by!  It was so much fun to have you here! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books, Character Interview, Contemporary, Event, Fiction, Interview, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Readers, Romance, Writing

3 responses to “A Character Interview with Angel Bennett from ANGELEA’S DREAMS OF YESTERDAY plus a conversation with author Linda L. Picl!

  1. Pingback: A Character Interview with Angel Bennett from ANGELEA’S DREAMS OF YESTERDAY plus a conversation with author Linda L. Picl! | cherylanne57

  2. Pingback: Romantic Reflections: 2015 | I Love Romance Blog

Leave a Reply

