A to Z Challenge: Blood Brothers by Nora Roberts

As aforementioned in my last A to Z post, I’m putting myself to the A to Z Challenge for blogging.

A2Z-BADGE_[2016]

For these posts, I’ll be giving an I Love Romance Blog score, not an official review, for books currently on my shelf at home (I know readers must wonder what books inspires us as authors) or ones that are on my TBR list (what I want to read so bad I can’t stand it!). For each book, I will give the blurb, a few lines from the text, then why I liked the book or why I’d want to read it. And for fun, I’ll give  a heart rating! ♥

This is my scoring system:

I hope these A to Z Challenge suggestions will help you find a new favorite author, or further cement your love for one, if that’s the case.

Let’s jump into our next book, shall we?

Blood Brothers by Nora Roberts

51obbzSMKsL._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

Genre: Paranormal Romance/Suspense

Blurb:

In the town of Hawkins Hollow, it’s called The Seven. Every seven years, on the seventh day of the seventh month, strange things happen. It began when three young boys-Caleb, Fox, and Gage-went on a camping trip to The Pagan Stone. And twenty-one years later, it will end in a showdown between evil and the boys who have become men-and the women who love them.

A few choice lines from the book:

Cal saw her come in while he cut into his short stack at the counter. She had on those high, sharp-heeled boots, faded jeans, and a watch cap, bright as  a cardinal, pulled over her hair.

She’d wound on a scarf that made him think of Joseph’s coat of many colors, which added a jauntiness with her coat opened. Under it was a sweater the color of ripe blueberries.

There was something about her, he mused, that would have been bright and eye-catching even in mud brown.

He watched her eyes track around the diner area, and decided she was weighing where to sit, whom to approach. Already working, he concluded. Maybe she always was. He was damn sure, even on short acquaintance, that her mind was always working.

She spotted him. She aimed that sunbeam smile of hers, started over. He felt a little like the kid in the pickup game of ball, who got plucked from all the others waving their arms and shouting: Me! Me! Pick me!

“Morning, Caleb.”

“Morning, Quinn. Buy you breakfast?”

“Absolutely.” She leaned over his plate, took a long, dramatic sniff of his butter-and-syrup-loaded pancakes. “I bet those are fabulous.”

“Best in town.” He stabbed a thick bite with his fork, held it out. “Want a sample?”

“I can never stop at a taste. It’s a sickness.” She slid onto the stool, swiveled around to beam at the waitress as she unwound her scarf. “Morning. I’d love some coffee, and do you have any granola-type substance that could possible be topped with any sort of fruit?”

“Well, we got Special K, and I could slice you up some bananas with it.”

“Perfect.” She reached over the counter. “I’m Quinn.”

“The writer from up in PA.” The waitress nodded, took Quinn’s hand in a firm grip. “Meg Stanley. You watch this one here, Quinn,” Meg said with a poke at Cal. “Some of those quiet types are sneaky.”

“Some of us mouthy types are fast.”

My Score:

This book is on my personal shelf, along with the other two novels in the Sign of Seven Trilogy.

sequels-Sign of Seven

Nora Roberts is one of my favorite authors, and I have rarely found a book by her that I don’t like.

The sign of Seven Trilogy is a ‘good versus evil’ series, if I’m to sum it up so succinctly. I love the brotherly bond between the three childhood friends, and, of course, the romance. Nora is, I have to say, practically the queen of developing a romance amid a dark, action-filled moment. And this series is full of them. You know how much I love paranormal! 😉

Book one is, for the most part, about Caleb (Cal) and Quinn, two people who somehow make falling in love look flawless. Despite all the craziness going on around them too. This is about a group of people who find out their destinies are entwined in ways they never imagined.

I recommend the whole series, and Gage, the hero of the final book, is my favorite because he is the least likely ‘brother’ to settle down.

51EAcqh96OL._SX453_BO1,204,203,200_

Nora Roberts nails it every time! I give this one five hearts, hands down! 🙂

five hearts

5 Comments

Filed under Authors, Blogging, Books, Contemporary, Event, Fiction, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Readers, Reviews, Romance, Writing

5 responses to “A to Z Challenge: Blood Brothers by Nora Roberts

  1. Tom

    I like the premise of the story and, characters who find themselves thrown together years later makes for great suspense – whatever the primary genre. Nice choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda Lee

    I enjoy most of Nora Roberts’ books, too. Thanks for sharing, Marie. Did the same. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: A to Z Reflections | I Love Romance Blog

  4. Pingback: A Year of Romance: 2016 | I Love Romance Blog

Leave a Reply

