A Character Interview with Logan Gray from TEXAS C.H.A.O.S. plus a conversation with author Sable Hunter!

Today, we’re doing something a little different. If you remember, we interviewed K.C. Sprayberry’s three characters on April 26th and it was so fun that I thought we may as well make an occasional habit of it. I had the pleasure of meeting Sable Hunter, the author of TEXAS CHAOS, on my author journey and I asked if I could borrow a character, Logan Gray, from the book. We’ll get a chance to talk to Sable Hunter in a bit, but now we have on the stage…Logan!

Logan and Jenna

Marie Lavender:  Hello, Logan.  Please have a seat.

Character Logan Gray: Thank you for having me, Marie. I tell you it’s hot out in this Texas sunshine. Talking to you gives me a chance to come in and cool off.

Marie:  Of course! It’s my pleasure!

We’re going to start out with some simple questions, all right?

Logan: Okay.

Marie:  Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Also, what is your occupation?  Are you any good at it?  Do you like it?

Logan: Well, to answer your question, I’ve been lucky enough to have two missions in life that I feel are worthy callings. I am Fire Chief of the Stonewall Volunteer Fire Department which is located between Austin and Fredericksburg, a small rural community in the Texas Hill Country. We are proud to protect our community and serve them in their hour of need. My other job is owning the Gray Wolf Guest Ranch. My family helps with this endeavor but we provide a place where guests can get a taste of the cowboy life and see a genuine, Texas rodeo. I am also a stock contractor for rodeos. In other words, I keep busy.

Marie:  Wow, that’s impressive!

As for the other questions…

Logan: Am I any good? Hell, yes. I’m good at both of my jobs. I don’t tolerate slack attitudes from any of my men or my employees and I sure don’t tolerate it from myself. What I do can mean the difference between life or death for some folks. I have to approach it with all seriousness.

Do I like what I do? Yes, I am fortunate to be able to do two things I love. Protecting my friends and neighbors with the Fire Department is something that I am honored to do and the ranch gives me a chance to indulge my love of the outdoors and dealing with horses and cattle. I am a cowboy at heart.

That’s great!:)

So, tell us…what is your family like?

Logan:  Well, my parents are still alive and I am glad of that for many reasons. When Dad retired from the military, they moved in with me to help with Gray Wolf Ranch. When Jenna came to live with us, I gave Mom and Dad the big house so Jenna could have some privacy and I moved into what used to be the foreman’s house. My parents are wonderful, overprotective, supportive, bossy – ha! My mom is a wonderful cook and I’m grateful they have accepted Jenna with their whole heart. They saw what was between Jenna and I before I was willing to admit it to myself.

Marie:  Yes, those closest to us can often see things we don’t notice ourselves.

Can you let us know what your childhood home looked like?

Logan: I was raised in a military family. We moved from base to base, so we never were able to put down roots. I guess that nomadic lifestyle was the reason I bought a piece of land as quickly as I could. I wanted a home; now I’m fortunate enough to have one.

Marie:  I’m so glad you found one! 😉

Do you have any hobbies, Logan?  What do you enjoy doing?

Logan: Well, my work as Fire Chief keeps me busy. Gray Wolf Ranch is more than a hobby, but I guess the horses and the rodeo that we have there would classify as what I enjoy doing the most. Outside of those two things, and loving on my Jenna, I don’t have a lot of time to spare.

Marie:  Okay.

So…what is your greatest dream?

Logan: The day I stood on a ladder and pulled my Jenna from a fire, I held my dream in my arms. I fought it, hell, I thought I was too old for her. But heaven smiled down on me and she loved me right back. Even when I was still trying to keep her at arm’s length, she wouldn’t take no for an answer. So, being with her, married to her is my greatest dream. Now, we have a baby on the way and things are more than perfect. Apart from my family, my next greatest dream is being my brother’s keeper and I do that by fighting fires and helping my neighbors and friends by protecting their lives and their property.

Marie:  That’s very admirable.

Let’s try another question.

What kind of person do you wish you could be?  What is stopping you?

Logan: I intend to be the type of person that my loved ones and friends can rely on. I’m a big guy, but I want my heart and my capacity to care to be just as big. I want to be Jenna’s rock, I never want her to have a moment when she doesn’t feel like the center of my universe. And when the baby comes…I intend to spoil my little girl rotten and make sure she doesn’t get married until she’s 42.

Marie: (Laughs.) Aww…

Logan: What’s stopping me? You know, I almost messed things up with Jenna because I was worrying about what other people might think about our age difference. Being in the public eye, a public servant if you will, I am conscious about being above reproach. I almost let the best thing in my life slip through my fingers because I was worried about people thinking I was robbing the cradle. Jenna and others set me straight. She is perfect for me in every way and those that love me, are happy for us both.

So sweet.

I’m going to throw another random question at you now. 

Who was your first love?

Logan: Oh, I had crushes on girls. What guy doesn’t? And I have had casual relationships, I’m not a saint. But Jenna was my first and only love.

Marie: Happy to hear it! (Sighs.) I love romance…

Texas Chaos

Okay, let’s try something else.

What’s the most terrible thing that ever happened to you?

Logan: As a fireman, we see terrible things. We lose people, even after we do our very best to save them. The most terrible thing that ever happened to me, though, was the moment I arrived at that rodeo arena and saw my Jenna on the back of a bucking bull. And when she was thrown and hit the ground…I flew over that fence to her side. From that moment, I vowed to keep her safe – so I married her.

Marie:  Yikes! Sorry to hear that happened, but I’m glad you guys got married.

[Briefly touches her guest’s hand.]

Let’s move on to something a bit lighter now, shall we?

[Logan nods.]

What was your dream growing up? Did you achieve that dream? If so, in what ways was it not what you expected? If you never achieved the dream, why not?

Logan: My dream growing up was to be a cowboy. I wanted to ride the range and sleep outdoors. The houses we lived at on the base never had a very big yard, so I was hungry for adventure. My dream to be a fireman came later, after I watched a group of brave men battle a fire at a home in our neighborhood. They saved a little boy that day, and I knew that I wanted to do the same thing.

I’m lucky enough to have achieved both my dreams. I even achieved a dream I didn’t know I had until I looked into Jenna’s beautiful eyes.

Being a fireman seems exciting to a little boy, and it is. But when you’re young, you don’t think about people dying, or finding out how it feels to not be able to save someone, no matter how hard you try. As far as the cowboy thing goes – just like any other dream, you learn there are harsh realities. When you raise cattle, you lose some. The work is hard, hot and grueling. Even with my dream about Jenna, there are days when I’m sure she’d like to wring my neck. You take the bad with the good, and at the end of the day, you just know that you’ve done your very best – and that feels pretty damn good.

Marie:  All right.

Who is your role model, Logan?

Logan: My role model is my dad. He served his country, yet always made me feel loved and important. Another role model of mine, my old Fire Chief, I looked up to him. He was a fine role model as far as the work, but I almost let his failures in his marriage cause me to fail with Jenna. I learned never to measure your own chance at happiness against someone else’s. Jenna and I are different people than Jay Hodgins and his Sierra – and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Marie:  Well…you’ll probably think I’m digging for dirt on the next question. 

Is there someone you pretend to like but really dislike?

Logan: Well, there was – his name was Damien Wade, he was the Fire Chief over in Wimberley. I worked with him, but there was always something about him that bothered me. Now, I know my instincts were right. My friend Titan Sloan discovered that Damien was abusing his wife. Turns out he was an arsonist too. He even set some fires over here in my district. A firebug who hides behind a fireman’s badge is the worst kind of coward. Titan has his job now, and his wife. I’m glad it all worked out for the best.

Marie:  I can’t blame you for feeling that way.

So, can you tell us something? What is your deepest desire, Logan?

Logan:  My deepest desire is to keep Jenna, my wife, safe and to make her happy. She lost her parents in a fire, and my folks have tried to fill that gap. I want to give her everything she’s ever dreamed of – a home, a family and all the love my heart can hold.

Marie:  Sounds like the perfect plan…

How about another question?

What is your greatest fear?

Logan:  My biggest fear is losing Jenna. She’s had two close calls, and I don’t want her to have another. If I can keep her sweet little butt off the back of a bull, I’ll feel better about it. Until then, I’ll keep my eye on her – after all, she’s mine.

That’s right. I think you have nothing to worry about, though. 😉

Well, it looks like we’re out of time. Thank you for visiting us today, Logan. It was so interesting getting to know you!

Logan:  Thank you for having me here, Marie!

Marie:  My pleasure!

(Waves goodbye to her guest.)

Marie:  Now, let’s shift over and get the author’s perspective.  We have author Sable Hunter on the stage today. It’s such a pleasure to have you here! Hello, Sable!

sable

So, we just got to talk to a female character of your story, Logan Gray. Quite an interesting character.  Can you tell us a little about him?

Author Sable Hunter: Logan Gray is a man’s man. He is big, strong and sexy as they come. Somehow he’s managed to reach his late 30’s without falling into the matrimonial trap – -and it’s time. He’s been waiting for the right woman to come along and when she does, he’s afraid to reach out and grab her with both hands because he thinks she is too young for him. Little does he know…

He’s good with animals, he is a stock contractor for the rodeo, but he always puts the welfare of the animal first. He is a giver – a good son, a brave firefighter, a good friend. I want a Logan Gray of my own.

Marie:  Can’t blame you there! 😉 He sounds awesome!

So, what are your character’s greatest strengths?

Sable: Logan’s greatest strength is his ability to put everyone else first – be it people he is saving from a fire; a fireman he is going an extra mile to train or the woman of his dreams when he tamps down his own desires to make her dreams come true. For a man like that – a woman would do most anything.

Marie:  For sure!

And what are his greatest weaknesses?

Sable: I never understood it, but Logan doubted that he would be enough for someone. He saw tying Jenna to him for life as limiting her horizons, setting boundaries on what she might be able to accomplish. Logan wanted to give Jenna her freedom so she could accomplish her dreams – he didn’t realize that he was her dream, he would be any woman’s dream. With a man like Logan at your side, a girl could touch the sky.

Marie:  So true…

Let’s try something else.

What are some of his favorite foods?

Sable: Logan is definitely a meat-eater. He loves beef, of course. But he also loves pizza, Cajun food and Mexican food. And chocolate – of course.

Marie:  (Laughs.) A man after my own heart! Chocolate is my weakness. 😀

How about another question?

What’s a positive quality that your character is unaware that he or she has?

Sable: A positive quality that Logan has that he isn’t aware of – – is that he makes everyone feel safe. He’s a natural leader, but he doesn’t lead just by intimidation; he makes you want to follow him because you want to make him proud.

Marie:  Will readers like or dislike this character, and why?

Sable:  Readers will love this character – he’s hot as hell, sweet, alpha as they come and really good in bed. I’d take him in a heartbeat.

(Giggles.) I’m sure they will too!:)

Now that we have a real taste of Logan, we have a few questions for you as well as the author.

What first gave you the idea for TEXAS CHAOS?

Sable:  I always start with a hook, or a trope, a challenge. I wanted to do an older guy/younger woman story. The Texas Heroes series began with TEXAS WILDFIRE which was in the Cowboy 12-pack, and it did well. So, I created another firemen/cowboy book to go with it, weaving in a few of the other firemen characters so I could continue the series if I wanted. In researching firemen stuff, as I am apt to do, I came upon the jargon “CHAOS” which was something the firemen will say when their boss shows up, probably for the same reason any of us would, to warn one another to look busy – ha! Anyway the CHIEF HAS ARRIVED ON SCENE, just hit me as something to show that the big guy is there, all is well, the situation is in hand. I tried to get that feeling across – both for his men and for Jenna; when Logan arrived, they knew everything would be okay.

Great! I love how the muse works.

Let’s try something else.

What is your writing style like? Are you a pantster or a plotter?

Sable: I write every day, full time, from my recliner with the TV on and two doxies by my side. I occasionally get up to go to the bathroom. – ha!

Marie:  All right.

Now, I’m throwing this one in for our aspiring writers. Did you come across any specific challenges in writing TEXAS CHAOS or publishing it?  What would you do differently the next time?

Sable: No, it went smoothly. I loved the story line and it flowed well. And since I’m indie and publish my own, I’m in the driver’s seat.

Differently? Well, I took a drive out to Stonewall, which is next to LBJ Ranch and close to Fredericksburg with beautiful Enchanted Rock and Luckenbach, of country music fame on the way. I love to research my novels by walking where they walk and eating where they might eat. So, I guess if I had it to do over again – I’d go twice. Peach season is amazing and there are a few vineyards out there where you can stop and taste – and taste – and taste.

Marie:  Sounds like a blast!

Well, it was a such a pleasure having you here on the I Love Romance Blog!  And how apropos is that, considering what a great story TEXAS CHAOS appears to be.

Readers, you will just have to pick up a copy of this wonderful yet sexy, Western romance by Sable Hunter, a very talented author! :)

Texas Chaos

Here is the blurb for TEXAS CHAOS:

The letters C. H. A. O. S. don’t just refer to reality out of control, it’s an alert–the Chief Has Arrived On Scene! Logan Gray is that chief. He covers the ground he stands on and people show respect when he walks by. In his late thirties, Logan is a confirmed bachelor. While he may adore the young Jenna from afar, at 18, he considers her to be a lifetime too young for him.
Jenna is of another opinion. Logan Gray is everything to her. He rescued her from a fire at 16. His parents took her in when she had nothing and no one. Raised on his Gray Wolf guest ranch, Jenna learns how to trick-ride and perform in the rodeo. When Logan’s not looking, she even loves to try her hand at bull-riding. And now, she is ready to go after what she wants most–Logan Gray.
Ignoring the fact that his heart and body craves Jenna like a drug, Logan does what he thinks is best and gently turns her down. What happens next turns his world on end. Logan learns that love can’t be defined by a number and life without Jenna is no life at all.
Sable is also offering us a great excerpt from the book!

As Jenna sat on the brown leather couch adjacent to the fireplace, Logan flipped on a lamp. When he did, Jenna could see him clearly for the first time since leaving the bar. What she saw made her breath hitch in her throat.
He was aroused.
Big time.
There was no denying what she saw. Logan had a hard on.
For her?
She let him walk off while her mind spun. Was this possible? She jumped up and began to pace. What if he did want her? What if all of this was some grand gesture on his part because of their age? What if she could make this right?
Before she could change her mind, Jenna began to remove her clothes. Oh yea, she was inexperienced, but Jenna had one advantage in the situation.
She had fantasized about him so much and so often, Jenna knew exactly what she was going to do.
Seduce Logan Gray – or die trying.
In the kitchen, Logan put on his old fashioned percolator, then hung over the sink, splashing water in his face while the coffee brewed. Was he crazy? The woman he adored was in the next room. He could count the times on one hand that he’d allowed them to be totally alone with each other. And now – she was here, she was legal and most importantly – she wanted him.
“Logan?”
Logan jerked up right, running both hands through his hair. “Yea?”
“Could you come here for a second?”
“Coffee’s not done, I’ll be there in a minute.” He needed just a bit more time to get his errant dick in line. Now that he had her here – what could he say? What could he do? He’d hoped to get her to go home to Gray Wolf where he’d know where she was, and that she was safe.
“I don’t want any coffee,” she called. “There’s something else I want. Something I need.”
With only a moment’s hesitation, Logan left the kitchen. “What can I do for you, Jenna?” When he stepped around the corner, he froze – he couldn’t move, speak or think.
Jenna, his Jenna was lying on the couch. Her head on a pillow, her eyes on him, that sweet tongue of hers peeking out and licking her top lip. One leg was bent, her back arched – her incredible breasts thrust up. And God help him…
She was gloriously, stupendously nude.
Completely naked.
“Jenna?” His whole body blazed red hot. Electric. If he’d thought his cock was hard before, now it was huge, rock-solid and throbbing.
“Logan?” She held her hand. “Make love to me.” She ran one hand over her breasts, down her middle to tease the top of her mound. “Please?”
“This is…this is not why I brought you here.”
He didn’t take his eyes off of her. She could see his chest moving up and down, taking in deep breaths. But still…he didn’t move.
Well, if the man won’t come to Jenna, she’d have to go to her man. “No? I can’t think of a better reason. I’ve wanted you for years.” Gracefully, she rose and began walking toward him slowly with catlike grace.
Logan’s mouth was dry; his body shook. The woman was fuckin’ perfect. Over the years, he’d envisioned how beautiful she must be under her clothes.
Damn, he wasn’t even close.
“You’re magnificent,” he whispered. The truth couldn’t be contained. Every part of her was utterly delectable.
“No strings attached. No expectations. No promises. Just love me.”
God, he loved her. He’d always loved her. That wasn’t the problem.
Logan was still stuck in his tracks. His mind wasn’t functioning worth a damn. “Jenna, this…”
“Is what I want.” She stepped up to him, her swollen nipples grazing his chest. “You’ll never know how I’ve dreamed of this moment.” Placing her hands on his shoulders, she rose up on tiptoe and fitted her mouth to his. “Kiss me.”
One touch, that’s all it took and Logan was free. Free to touch, free to hold, free to join their lips and inhale her like she was life-giving oxygen. He wrapped his arms around her and held her tight. She was small, delicate. When she was nestled against him, his body enveloped hers – and he never wanted to let her go.
Jenna began working on his shirt as they kissed, undoing buttons and tugging it from his pants. When he tried to stop her hands, “Baby, baby, we…”
She went with step two.
“We can do anything we want to do.” Turning in his arms without breaking contact, she placed her bottom against his swollen package and rubbed – up – down, looking over her shoulder and up into his eyes.
Up. Down.
He was so big and hard, she felt like she was rubbing against a steel rod.
Logan was hyperventilating. He was about to die. There was no way in hell he could keep his hands off of her. Wrapping an arm around her, he covered one breast with a big palm – and rubbed.
She purred, the woman fuckin’ purred.
Logan didn’t have a chance.

Ooh…so hot! 

Purchase Links:

Universal Amazon link:  myBook.to/TexasCHAOS

We’ll be sure to get a copy of this riveting tale! ♥

About Sable Hunter

sable

Sable Hunter is a New York Times, USA Today bestselling author of nearly 50 books in 7 series. She writes sexy contemporary stories full of emotion and suspense. Her focus is mainly cowboy and novels set in Louisiana with a hint of the supernatural. Sable writes what she likes to read and enjoys putting her fantasies on paper. Her books are emotional tales where the heroine is faced with challenges. Her aim is to write a story that will make you laugh, cry and swoon. If she can wring those emotions from a reader, she has done her job. Sable resides in Austin, Texas with her two dogs. Passionate about all animals, she has been known to charm creatures from a one ton bull to a family of raccoons. For fun, Sable haunts cemeteries and battlefields armed with night-vision cameras and digital recorders hunting proof that love survives beyond the grave. Welcome to her world of magic, alpha heroes, sexy cowboys and hot, steamy to-die-for sex. Step into the shoes of her heroines and escape to places where right prevails, love conquers all and holding out for a hero is not an impossible dream.

Books:

Love Me I Dare You

51gKPx-GkCL._SY342_BO1,204,203,200_

51BMsbIyovL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51Cq7rlWdwL._SY255_BO1,204,203,200_

51Zz8M-xYLL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51eqqF+BSqL._SX312_BO1,204,203,200_

51Fw9NgKyaL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51z422C+6+L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51NG0jC0J+L._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51TGTNWbAtL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Texas Chaos

51B4KKyLKuL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51E+KUuC6oL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51gzdfADIvL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51zaU1Qd12L._SY255_BO1,204,203,200_

61JKuV9+2-L._SX362_BO1,204,203,200_

51ZzXiwr4XL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51nmBUKDsfL._SX356_BO1,204,203,200_

51X4Ubz-mnL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

51znB3e4aoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51BZeU9xhfL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51rg476m2xL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51XSani9R4L._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51jOqMScfyL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51SOYSfx6ZL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51InaAFKHoL._SY255_BO1,204,203,200_

51+691dE09L._SX313_BO1,204,203,200_

519eg2sXmsL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51+AenkUPVL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51vtOZnRuIL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51ocyTELGVL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51IlGnICpVL._SX303_BO1,204,203,200_

51ik-2W65nL._SX313_BO1,204,203,200_

51U0ZkNWFrL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

51np-Qk-x7L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

51+BekFgfgL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

513IqPj2tSL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51Vw0DqcavL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51qpGZxfesL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51P5zA6zz9L._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51WX2GBtOhL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51MJmblpOyL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51-Y4Impu9L._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51uKd02nIiL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51PLOUECBNL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51rOeFChlvL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51z0oVVKJeL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51wxdXmmm-L._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

51C3n-ZoUpL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51XN99AvebL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51Qn+5xeD3L._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_

51oLhhmuEVL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51TrXxrJYLL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51rtSsYYq-L._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

41C5I5TjVSL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_

51D29qR5kRL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

51aVhIhoFGL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_

51fYVtuvBwL._SX384_BO1,204,203,200_

516zhrG-e0L._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51YnmniRpxL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51B5MeKUgEL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51YN1fymtqL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

51fjhZK-YQL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

51EdpmZ2spL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

513WQqqKdvL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

And, if you want to know how to connect with the amazing Sable Hunter, here are some author links:

Website:  http://sablehunter.com/

Blog:  http://sablehunter.com/sables-blog.html

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorsablehunter/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/huntersable

Amazon Author Page:  http://www.amazon.com/Sable-Hunter/e/B007B3KS4M/

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4419823.Sable_Hunter

Newsletter:  http://eepurl.com/qRvyn

Bookbub:  https://www.bookbub.com/authors/sable-hunter

Once again, I want to thank both of our guests, Logan, a male character from TEXAS CHAOS, and Sable Hunter, the brilliant author of the novel, for stopping by!  It was so much fun to have you here! :)

3 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books, Character Interview, Contemporary, Event, Fiction, Interview, Readers, Romance, western, Writing

3 responses to “A Character Interview with Logan Gray from TEXAS C.H.A.O.S. plus a conversation with author Sable Hunter!

  1. Pingback: A Year of Romance: 2016 | I Love Romance Blog

  2. I love it when people come together and share opinions, great blog, keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

