Angsty, book lovers, book reviews, Books, clean romance, Contemporary, Drama, Event, feature, Fiction, Hope, rating, Readers, Reviews, Romance, score, Second Chances, sweet romance

Book Review: Ginny’s impression of The Reluctant Courtship of Jack Allan by Dayle King Searle

Hi, readers! If you haven’t checked the updates to our review policy, please do. Review requests are currently closed, but we are trying to catch up on our TBR list. Please view our new book review team on the ‘About Us‘ page.

The latest I Love Romance Blog review selection is The Reluctant Courtship of Jack Allan by Dayle King Searle. Take it away, Ginny!

Thanks!

Jack Allan is a farmer who had lost his wife three years ago. He was angry from the loss of his wife and put up a wall. He locked up all emotions he had or could have and refused to let anyone in. He was tired of people trying to fix him up but, he caved when Ruby and elderly lady he had much respect for ask him to come to the dance and meet her granddaughter. After attending the dance, he was feeling something, but what was it? He knew it couldn’t be love. He was not looking for that.  

He finally decides to give into his feelings and asks Ally out on a date. She declines, says it’s better to stay friends, because she didn’t want to take a chance on anything happening and then her son would be heartbroken. If he got attached and things went bad, where would that leave him?

After a few bad relationship choices on Jack’s part, he finally realizes he had feelings for Ally, he loves her, she had helped him see that it was okay to let people in, that he was not at fault for his wife’s death. It took them being stuck in a snow cave for them to realize they both loved each other.

How could someone just walk into your life and make you see things differently? See things you thought you would never want to see again?

My rating is 4 for romance level, but 5 for the book. (Not a lot of romance, but it builds there towards the end.)

Book Info:

Jack Allan cannot count the number of times he’s been approached with invitations beginning something like, “My sister has a friend…” It seems as if everyone in the small town of Corbett, Idaho, is intent on finding a wife for him–everyone except for Jack himself. The townspeople gossip that this is because Jack, a young widower, has not gotten over the death of his wife, Katelin, and in a way they are right. However, it isn’t his undying love for Katelin which is holding Jack back. Rather it is the memory of events surrounding her death, events about which only he knows and which have left him filled with guilt.

Universal Reader link: https://books2read.com/u/bQAE2w

Here’s a teaser from the book…

“You have to come, Jack,” she insisted firmly. “I have someone I want you to meet.”

The smile slipped from Jack’s face. “I don’t think so, Ruby. I really don’t want to be set up…”

“Who said anything about setting you up?” demanded Ruby. She scowled at Jack through er black framed glasses, which stood in stark contrast to the cloud of pure white hair surrounding her face. “I merely said I wanted to introduce you to someone. My granddaughter, to be exact. She arrived yesterday to interview for a job at the school. If she gets it, she’ll be moving in with me, and she’ll be your neighbor, so I thought the two of you ought to meet.” Ruby spoke rapidly, her voice stern and scolding, and Jack, who had been raised to respect his elders—especially widows—responded with due contrition. Still, in heart, he knew a set up when he heard one.

“Okay, Ruby, but how about you just bring her by on your way to the dance?”

“Oh no, that wouldn’t do at all,” Ruby snapped. “I was counting on you to dance with her. She doesn’t know anyone, and I don’t want her to spend the whole evening sitting on the sidelines.

Ruby was a hard woman to turn down, and Jack felt his resistance begin to crumble. He didn’t want to. He knew he’d regret it. But he relented.

AUTHOR: Dayle King Searle

TITLE: The Reluctant Courtship of Jack Allan

GENRE: Clean/Sweet, Second Chance Romance

RELEASE DATE: November 14, 2018

PUBLISHER: Independently published

ISBN/ASIN: ‎ 9781731290359/B08WJQTN5T

OUR RATING: ♥♥♥♥

REVIEWED BY: Ginny Frick at www.cuzweread.wordpress.com

Guest Blogger/Reviewer Bio

I am a military wife, a mom, and a Gigi. All of which I would never change. I have a deep love for reading and if was given the opportunity, I truly believe I could do it all day. I decided to start reviewing books one day while I was reading some posts and thought, I can do that. So I commented on a few posts and next thing I know, I am reading some pretty amazing books. My cousin and I started a review blog (www.cuzweread.wordpress.com) and a bookstagram (@cuz.weread.books).

Thanks for reading our latest book review on ILRB! ♥  

Add A Comment Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.