A Character Interview with Selene Pertunda from GETTING IT RIGHT plus a conversation with author Christi Williams (and a special giveaway)!

Today, we’re doing something a little different. If you remember, we interviewed Ginger Ring’s character on September 20th and it was so fun that I thought we may as well make an occasional habit of it.  I have had the pleasure of knowing Christi Williams, the author of Getting It Right, for awhile now and I asked her if she’d let me borrow one of her main characters, Selene Pertunda, from the book.  We’ll get a chance to talk to Christi in a bit, but now we have on the stage…Selene Pertunda!

brilliantredhair.jpg by anitapeppers

Marie Lavender:  Hello, Selene.  Please have a seat.

Selene Pertunda:  Hello.  Thank you.  It’s a pleasure to be here.

Marie:  We’re going to start out with some simple questions, okay?

Character Selene:  Sure.

Marie:  So, Selene, what is your occupation?  Are you any good at it?  Do you like it?

Selene:   I am a nontraditional student and a part-time bartender. I bartend because the job was there and I can go to school during the day.

Marie:  Oh, okay. What is your family like?

Selene:   I have a good friend, Sarah. We have been friends since grade school. I’m not particularly close to my own family.

Marie:  What did your childhood home look like?

Selene:   We lived in apartments surrounded by blacktop. I liked visiting my nona—my grandmother—who had a yard and a big garden.

Marie:  Do you have any hobbies?  What do you enjoy doing?

Selene:  I have a lot of houseplants. If I don’t control them they are soon taking over my house.

Marie:  What is your greatest dream, Selene?

Selene:  I would like to own land and farm some day. My roots are in the land.

Marie:  So, what kind of person do you wish you could be?  What is stopping you?

Selene:  I would like to be educated. What is stopping me is that I sometimes make poor choices, but I’m trying to improve.

Marie:  I’m going to throw another random question at you now.  Who was your first love?

Selene:  His name was Robert. He was a talented artist but a wounded soul. I fell hard for him.

Marie:  Selene, what’s the most terrible thing that ever happened to you?

Selene:  Robert was the most terrible thing that happened to me. He made me question my worth and I lost a lot of years questioning whether I was good enough.

Marie:  Oh, no!  I’m so sorry you had to go through that.  I had a similar experience in the past.  Well, let’s move on to something a bit lighter.

What was your dream growing up? Did you achieve that dream? If so, in what ways was it not what you expected? If you never achieved the dream, why not?

Selene: I don’t live in an ideal place to dream big dreams. It’s hard to live in the high desert without being self-confident and self-sufficient, which I never was until I met Beck.

Marie:   So, who is your role model?

Selene:  My role model is Beck’s cousin Carole. I met her when I took a class from her at the college. She’s confident and assured, attractive and caring. People really like her.

Marie:  Selene, you’ll probably think I’m digging for dirt on the next question…Is there someone you pretend to like but really dislike?

Selene:  Besides Robert? No, not really. Sometimes I had to pretend I was okay with the way he treated me because I didn’t think I deserved any better. But now I can admit I don’t like him at all.

Marie:  I hear you on that.  Abusers are never worth your time.

So, what is your deepest desire?

Selene:  Oh, boy. It’s Beck, of course. I want Beck in the worst way.

Getting It Right -72dpi-1500x2000 (1)

Marie:  Ooh…do tell!  Well, maybe I should just read the book, right? 😉

Let’s switch to another question.  So, what is your greatest fear?

Selene:  My greatest fear is that I won’t be able to make Beck and Carole proud of me, that I won’t live up to expectations. I’m getting better at living up to my own dreams, which Carole says is the most important thing.

Marie:  Well, I agree.

Thank you for visiting us today, Selene. I wish you so much happiness in life. (Waves goodbye to Selene.)

Now, let’s shift over and get the author’s perspective.  We have Christi Williams on the stage today. Hi, Christi!

Author Christi Williams:  Hi.  Thank you for having me here.

My pleasure!  We just got to talk to the heroine of your story, Selene. Quite an interesting character.  Can you tell us a little about her?

Christi:  Selene is the last in a long line of streghe, agrarian witches from the high Alps in Europe. But she’s so far away from her roots, literally and figuratively, the Goddess flame has almost flickered out in her.

Marie:  Oh, this is getting good!  I definitely want to know more. 

What are your character’s greatest strengths?

Christi:  Selene perseveres. She thinks she’s not very strong, but she is.

Marie:  What, do you feel, are her greatest weaknesses?

Christi:  Selene has a tendency to see herself reflected in the way others treat her. She lacks the confidence to see her own powers.

Marie:  What are some of her favorite foods?

Christi:  She likes Chinese food, steak and potatoes, and chocolate cheesecake.

Marie:  Oh, no!  You said the ‘C’ word.  Chocolate is my weakness! But, let’s move on.  (Laughs.)

What’s a positive quality that your character is unaware that he or she has?

Christi: Selene makes a lot of mistakes, but she overcomes them. She doesn’t realize she’s in it for the long haul and that there are many people rooting for her to succeed.

Marie: Will readers like or dislike this character, and why?

Christi:  Oh, I think readers will like Selene. She’s very human.

Great!

Well, now that we have a real taste of Selene Pertunda, we have a few questions for you as well as the author.

What first gave you the idea for Getting It Right?

Christi:   I went back to school as a nontraditional student. While I was at college, I was able to work on an oral history project and so the premise of how someone like Selene could possibly meet someone like Beck was born.

Marie:  Interesting!

So, what is your writing style like? Are you a pantster or a plotter?

Christi:  After the initial idea presents itself, I’m a seat of the pants writer. I often don’t have any idea how my characters are going to get out of the predicaments they find themselves in.

Marie:  Well, it keeps things exciting, right?  (Chuckles.)

So, I’m throwing this one in for our aspiring writers. Did you come across any specific challenges in writing Getting It Right or publishing it?  What would you do differently the next time?

Christi: My first two novels and a novella, which became the Hawk Point Romances, were submitted to a publisher and accepted. The publisher took care of the formatting, the cover, and uploading it for sale. This second series, the Wyoming Romances, are a venture into self-pubbing for me. I’m very careful about editing my work, and bought the covers. I have done all my own promoting, and so I think this is the way I will go from now on.

Marie: Wow, that’s awesome, Christi!

Well, it was a such a pleasure having you here on the I Love Romance Blog.  And how apropos is that, considering what a great love story Getting It Right appears to be.  Readers, you will just have to pick up a copy of this awesome book by Christi Williams, a great author! 

Christi:  Thanks for having me and Selene here today, Marie!

Oh, the honor was all mine, I assure you.  🙂  Readers, before we finish things up here, I just wanted to point out that Christi Williams is running a giveaway for a $50 Amazon gift card and if you sign up with Rafflecopter here, you can be entered into the contest!  How exciting, right?  So, don’t forget to do that!

gift card

Getting It Right -72dpi-1500x2000 (1)

Official Book Release Date:  October 24, 2014

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Here is the blurb for Getting It Right:

Last of a long line of agrarian witches, Selene Pertunda thinks she will never meet the right man…until with the help of a little magic, she finds Beck McNeal.

Named for the Goddess of Desire, can she dream of lasting happiness with only one man?

Selene Pertunda has no trouble attracting a man. She just can’t seem to find the right one. From abusive husband Robert to tattooed bad boy lover Kevin, Selene draws men to her like bears to her honeypot. The problem is that none of them proves to be a good fit.

Sure she will never find a shared happiness, Selene has no way to suspect she’s drawn the attention of a powerful goddess. So she scoffs at the idea that the handsome man who begins to play a large part in her life could be her destiny. After all, what could worldly, educated Beck McNeal want with a small-town girl like Selene?

Selene and Beck try to their best to resist the inexplicable mutual magnetism flaring between them. But can two ordinary people avoid the decree of the Goddess of Desire?

Getting It Right is the first novel-length work in the Wyoming Series of contemporary romances by Christi Williams.

Amazon Pre-Order Purchase Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Getting-Right-Wyoming-Romances-Book-ebook/dp/B00NLO7K4G/

Universal Link:

http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00NLO7K4G

About Christi Williams:

Christi writes sensual, entertaining love stories of unforgettable modern Western men and women. Readers say…Sensual: “Taken a touchy subject and made it heartfelt and humorous, but she’s made it H.O.T.!!” Humorous: “Cracked me up!” Love: “To be loved like that!” Stories: “Character driven fiction.”

Christi’s Books:

Getting It Right -72dpi-1500x2000 (1)

23207973

20555462

18277244

18297175

And, if you want to know how to connect with the amazing Christi Williams, here are some of her author links:

http://www.writerchristi.blogspot.com/

http://christiwilliams.weebly.com/

https://www.facebook.com/writerchristi

http://www.amazon.com/Christi-Williams/e/B00CDWTTWS/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7055756.Christi_Williams

https://plus.google.com/+ChristiWilliamsWriterChristi/posts

http://www.pinterest.com/writerchristi/

https://twitter.com/WriterChristi

Once again, I want to thank both of our guests, Selene Pertunda, the female main character of Getting It Right, and Christi Williams, the brilliant author of the novel, for stopping by! 

And readers, don’t forget to sign up for the Rafflecopter giveaway!

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books, Contemporary, Fiction, Interview, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Writing

Leave a Reply

