Blogging, Contemporary, Couples Goals, Event, feature, Hope, Love, love poem, Message, poem, poems, Poetry, Readers, reflections, Relationships, Romance, romantic ideas, Writing

“Solace” – a new poem

Solace

I found myself in your arms tonight,

just as I have countless times in the past.

A picture-perfect moment for all to see,

yet it was private.

Image by Nos Nguyen from Pixabay

Only for us.

Despite the risks,

you couldn’t resist kissing me, and neither could I resist you.

We needed to reacquaint our physical forms.

It’s been too long since we stood body to body,

Photo by Lauren Rader on Unsplash

and even longer since we were caught up in each other.

Photo by We-Vibe WOW Tech on Unsplash

It was difficult with the chaos and fear around us,

all the precautions against disease,

one that continues to hunt people.

Even now.

Photo by Tam Wai on Unsplash

This night I was reminded of a few of the many things that keep us connected.

With such a revelation, it’s clear we could never be just friends.

Were circumstances different,

if we hadn’t made the decisions that we did,

or if events had not played out the same way,

we still would’ve ended up here.

Not with a pandemic looming over our heads.

Just together.

Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

A lot separates us…

We are trapped by inconvenience,

fighting against an invisible thread.

But I know if either of us could change it in an instant,

fix the barriers…

We would.

That’s how much I want to be your wife.

Photo by Josh Applegate on Unsplash

The more time we spend apart,

the more I miss you and the deeper our connection becomes.

Some people do not understand why we keep trying,

why we’re still here despite the odds set against us.

But it’s not for them to comprehend.

We already know the truth at the heart of all the chaos.

Background vector created by rawpixel.com on Freepik

That vital fact is our solace in a cruel, dark place.

Nothing can divide us,

not really.

We remain one.

Still meant to be.

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Fate put me in your arms,

the way you held me just hours ago,

as if we were one another’s breath of life…

Photo by Alejandra Quiroz on Unsplash

Essences that have always managed to become a rare union of minds.

Our hearts, bodies, and souls were made for these moments.

Draw me close.

Kiss me again.

Photo by x ) on Unsplash

Let’s forget the world for a while.

Even with forces working against us,

we need not worry…

For I will always be yours.

No matter what.

Photo by Valentin Antonucci on Unsplash

© Marie Lavender, 2021.

12 thoughts on ““Solace” – a new poem”

  1. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I do think that you should publish more about this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but usually people do not discuss these issues. To the next! Best wishes!!

    Like

  2. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own blog now 😉

    Like

  3. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your information. Your article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

    Like

  4. Right here is the perfect blog for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need toÖHaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Add A Comment Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.